Why I choose to say NO to Fluoride…

The toothpaste subject has always been a matter of argument between my fellow dentist friends and me. They all assure me fluoride, when used in moderation, does no harm to your body and that is great to fight cavities and it really is. But I firmly believe there are many other ways to protect my teeth.

To be very clear, I am no dentist nor do I claim to have all the answers or  to know it all. I just read a lot, do some research and decide to choose what makes me feel more comfortable and therefore gives me peace of mind : )

To give you a little perspective in fluoride,  according to the Fluoride Action Network:

  • Just 1 gram of fluoride toothpaste (a full strip of paste on a regular-sized brush) is sufficient to cause acute fluoride toxicity in a two-year old child (e.g., nausea, vomiting, headache, diarrhea).
  • In 2009, U.S. poison control centers received over 25,000 calls related to excessive ingestion of fluoride toothpaste, with over 378 users requiring emergency room treatment.
  • Children who swallow fluoride toothpaste can reach fluoride levels in their blood that exceed the levels that have been found to inhibit insulin secretion and increase blood glucose in animals and humans.
  • 40% of American teenagers show signs of fluoride over-exposure.

There are many ways to keep your teeth healthy: proper daily oral hygiene, dry brushing, flossing, cutting down on sugar and caffeine, consuming calcium rich foods, quitting smoking, just to name a few. And there are many natural alternatives to keep them clean and white like strawberries, lemon, baking soda, coconut oil pulling and apple cider vinegar. I will explain all of these in detail later on.

In this post I will only address cream toothpaste and will give you my TOP 3               

69633

#1 WELEDA Salt Toothpaste

It’s a salt based toothpaste produced in Germany that I recently discovered in my local natural store (Co-opportunity) and immediately became obsessed with. Some people say it taste too “salty” or don’t like the taste  but it has peppermint notes and I find it quite pleasant!  I also enjoy the feeling of the crystals, my teeth feel super clean and my gums have never been healthier.

The white crystals of salt absorb water drawing fluids outwards. Salt is also cleansing and purifying and improves capillary circulation.

Weleda is wild-crafted, organic, without toxins or additives and most importantly they don’t test on animals.

   

4a959efb22f34647f3029fd96e6b4ae6

#2 The Honest Company – Fresh Mint Toothpaste  

HONEST headquaerters are in Santa Monica, CA and I have been a fan since they launched the company in 2011. I might be a little obsessed with the brand to be honest ; ) I LOVE the name, what they stand for and their commitment to social responsibility.

HONEST toothpaste is really refreshing and the natural mint leaves makes it tastes minty but not overwhelming like regular toothpastes. It also contains green tea which is a powerful antioxidant, calcium to help protect and fortify tooth enamel and organic aloe and bisabolol to help soothe gum irritation.

WELEDA is absolutely free of SLS, sulfates, saccharin, fluoride, artificial sweeteners, artificial flavors, parabens, triclosan, gluten, dyes and is 100% vegan.

 #3RTC007_Xl Redmon EARTHPASTE – Peppermint 

This was the first natural toothpaste that I tried and actually loved, the company is based in Heber City, Utah and I was lucky to find It at my natural health store at the moment, Rainbow Acres in Marina del Rey, CA.

I loved the taste and how my teeth felt so I ended up using it for a couple of years. As of now EARTHPASTE has 5 different types of natural toothpastes but I have only tried this one, it was love at first sight.

The main component on EARTHPASTE is food-grade Redmond Clay, a polishing cleanser with antibacterial properties that has been used for centuries to promote digestive health. It’s sweeten with xylitol, which is a natural sweetener and has been shown to promote healthy teeth. The peppermint flavor comes from essential oil, it gives it a super fresh taste. Peppermint is commonly used to promote stress relief and support digestion.

If you would like to try any of these toothpastes and have no access to natural stores you can easily order them on Amazon.

Love,

Raquel

Leave a Reply

