My Lavender Obsession

There isn’t a scent I like more than Lavender!! 

IMGL8817

I am so in love with lavender that when I started planning our wedding I knew from the start that it was going to be the center of it all. Our idea, originally, was to get married on a lavender field here in California, but the wedding was in May and the plants were not in full bloom then. Moving our wedding date was not an option since that was the day my grandparents got married and I wanted to honor and remember my late grandfather, the greatest love of my life, by getting married on that same day.

So we said OK let’s bring some lavender to the Dominican Republic!! And our magical, lavender wedding was so perfect my eyes are getting teary as I write this.

WAT-00790-3From creams, soaps, perfumes, shampoos, candles to laundry detergent and dishwashing soap, lavender is the one scent that is always around at my home, you can find at least 10 products that contain lavender any single day.  I also keep a satchel of fresh lavender buds in my car. The one I have now was sent to me by Kim, the lovely owner of Fat and the Moon. (check out their website if you don’t know them, you won’t regret it)

Lavender has many many benefits, in this post I’ll share some of them with you and will also share some of our beautiful wedding pictures : )

“Lavender has been thought for centuries to enflame passions as an aphrodisiac, and is still one of the most recognized scents in the world”

Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 8.23.31 PM

As a relaxant: I am a fan of essential oils and always keep a small bottle of dōTERRA Lavender in my purse. I rub it behind my ears and on the insides of both wrists when I feel stressed out and it really calms me. Lavender essential oil reduces stress, tension and has relaxation inducing properties. It is also a sedative helping with depression by improving mood and outlook.

Internally – Lavender is believed to be of benefit for a multitude of problems, including stress, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness and even as a breath freshener. Inhaling the essential oil has been reported to work as well as narcotics for inducing relaxation and sleep, easing symptoms of depression, and reducing headache pain.

img_9240On the skin – There are SO many things you can do with lavender, have in mind lavender oil is one of the safest essential oils and can be used full-strength on the skin. My favorite are sugars scrubs, this one I made for my sister in law’s baby shower using granulated sugar, coconut oil, lavender EO and vanilla. It smells delicious and it makes the skin extremely soft.

As aLavender-Sugar spice – Lavender is best known as an important aspect of French cuisine and is an integral ingredient in herbs de Provence seasoning blends. It can be used on its own to give a delightful, floral flavor to desserts, meats, and breads.

The flowers can also be layered within sugar to infuse it with its distinctive aroma for use in cookies and candies.

For our wedding we were lucky enough to have, in my humble opinion, the best team of wedding planners and decorators in the Dominican Republic.

Novella Event-Wedding Planner super professional and caring team took care of every single logistic detail from beginning to end. We had a very clear vision of what we wanted and they completely picked on it and made sure everything went exactly as we had it planned. The made us feel at ease every single day and for that we will forever be thankful.

IMGL3536ICC | boutique creativa & eventos were the ones responsible for all the gorgeousness you are about to see. This family driven company is run by three lovely sisters who are capable of creating the most stunning, fine, wedding you could ever dream of. We had so many ideas and It only took one meeting for them to completely understand and exceed all of our expectations.

Here I leave you with some pictures of our wedding, you will see we used lavender for almost everything, from my bouquet, my bridesmaids bouquets, my flower girls head pieces, on the napkins, as flower and candle arrangements and even for the little presents I gave my family that day.

IMGL8834

But it was these gorgeous souvenirs my grandma handmade that stole the show! She made them out of jute, filled them up with dry lavender buds and then she hand stitched our initials on them. How beautiful are they??

IMGL7607

IMGL7293

IMGL2428

IMGL8666

IMGL8683

IMGL2408

IMGL2307

IMGL2475

IMGL2304

IMGL2318

IMGL1857

IMGL0366

IMGL0271

IMGL1618

IMGL0676 copy 2

Love,

Raquel ❤

12 thoughts on “My Lavender Obsession

      1. Aww I really appreciate, we put a lot of effort into it and It turned out better than we expected.. Im sure you will get married and It will be as if not more beautiful than mine ❤

        Like

  1. Absolutely gorgeous pictures!! What a beautiful wedding!! I am in complete agreeance about lavender! Can’t get enough! My favorite beauty product with lavender has to be Badger’s Night Night Balm. Smooth it on under the nose or on the pressure points before going to sleep and it is that extra little step that helps me go right under 🙂 Have you tried it before?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh.my.wow! I love the post 🙂 I fought loving lavender because I thought I would never have as many uses for it as I did for peppermint… Silly me. Lavender is a go to in my house, and I love how it smells 🙂
    Thank you for sharing pictures of your beautiful day. It looks like a fairytale 🙂 absolutely stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, that is so sweet of you ❤
      Lavender is the best!! I've been obsessed with it for almost 10 years now.. I use it for some many other things that are not even listed here because I didn't want to make it too long ! One of my favorites are the pillow mist!!! ahhh So relaxing!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

