S̄wạs̄dī Pratheṣ̄thịy

Hello Thailand !

FullSizeRender (5) copy

You have no idea how happy I got when I received this homemade Lemongrass Balm from Lanna Cafe Organics in Koh Chang, Thailand.

Lanna Cafe originated on the small remote island of Koh Chang Thailand 10 years ago. Their first ever organic product was this Lemongrass Balm, which is still the number one seller today!

Throughout this time we have managed to explore the farthest corners of the organic skin care and fair-trade industry. Here at Lanna we strive to promote healthy ingredients not only for the skin but also for the overall health of your body.
All our recipes were invented here at our shop.  We strive to make our products with the most benefical and nourishing ingredients for the skin, we go the extra mile to make our products the home made and the natural way

They have many products and I will tell you now why I chose this one specifically.

As long as I can remember I’ve always suffered from low back pain, I have a clear image on my mind of my mom gently massaging my lumbar region when I was 8 or 9 years old. throughout these years I have experimented with massages, chiros, acupuncture, creams, different chairs and even seating positions. I think I have tried everything within my reach and at the end of the day the only thing that works when I “throw my back out” is just to lay flat and use a heating pad.

From all the different creams/gels I tried, Bengay was always my go-to. That was until I started learning about natural products and really researching everything before buying it and I also started to learn a little more about the products that I was already using.. As you can imagine I ended up with an empty bathroom shelf 🙂

g-1145Most OTC muscle creams (Ben-Gay, Icy Hot, etc) contain one or more of three main ingredients: the cooling agents menthol and camphor, and the pain reliever methyl salicylate. The last one is an organic ester naturally produced by many species of plants, particularly wintergreen and It is also synthetically produced, used as fragrance, in foods and beverages. Methyl SalicylateIt is very similar to topical aspirin, If you’re applying more than a four-ounce tube a week, that’s probably too much and just like aspirin intake, too much can increase your risk of overdose.

Because of its toxicity, any product containing 5 percent or more of methyl salicylate has to carry a warning label stating it must be used as directed and kept out of children’s reach. But If you take the time to read the labels of some of these analgesic creams/rubs, you will realize they often don’t warn about the potential for skin damage. In Bengay’s product information for example, the only warning about potential chemical burns is regarding combining it with heating pads, and we only know this thanks to the warning by the FDA, other than that, there’s no mention of this rare, but potentially painful side effect.

Sooo, I started looking for different alternatives. I LOVE LOVE Arnica Montana which have great anti-inflammatory benefits and  I am also starting to like this Lemongrass Balm a LOT.

FullSizeRender (5)

I have only used this Lemongrass Balm 4 times since I got it, so I can’t give a full review but I want to share my experience so far and also give you a little insight on its amazing natural ingredients.

This balm is made completely by hand and using only natural ingredients. The smell is incredibly subtle and delicate and as soon as I rubbed it the first time on my lower back it made it warm and fuzzy and it just felt amazing.

bundle of lemon grass isolated on white

Here are the main ingredients on this Lemongrass Balm:

Lemongrass: Is a type of aromatic grass that has been in use for years in traditional Indian medicine. This grass has many health benefits: it helps relieve toothaches and headaches resulting from viral infections, it’s an anti-pyretic (agent that helps bring down fevers), an insect repellent, it helps get rid of blackheads and provide acne relief and most importantly it is an analgesic that can help reduce pain and inflammation.

shutterstock_114018679

Plai Ginger Root: Principal use is for the relief of pain and inflammation in a great number of conditions involving the joints and muscles. The oil has been tested in post-operative pain and inflammation, significantly reducing both. It has also been noted for its anti-histaminic action, having the potential to significantly reduce the severity of asthma attacks.

eucalyptus

Eucalyptus Oil: Originally from Australia, where it was first used by the aborigines. It is best known for its effective use against respiratory ailments including coughs, allergies, throat infections, asthma and sinus problems. It is also an effective local pain-killer helping treat muscle and joint pain. Eucalyptus oil is effective at lowering blood sugar (diabetes) and will help with blemishes, dandruff, sunburn and as an insect repelling.

-size-10ml-size-strength-omg-strength--[1]-5055-p (1)

Menthol: Is a well-known organic compound extracted from peppermint and other mints and has been used in many industries all around the world. It has many benefits like relieving sore throat and cough, as treatment for bad breath and as a topical analgesic, menthol is very effective in relieving itchiness, muscle pain and muscle cramps.

cinnamomum_camphora5

Camphor Oil: Is found in the woods of the camphor laurel (Cinnamomum camphora), a large evergreen tree found in Asia. It has a duel action of hot and cold. When first applied numbs and cools the peripheral nerve endings, then warms the painful area as it stimulates circulation to cold, stiff muscles and limbs.

Again This balm smells wonderful, If you are feeling lightheaded, dizzy, or nauseous, swipe some balm under your nose and rub some on your temples. The balm instantly calms the body, refreshes your airways and makes you feel relaxed again.

If you want to try this or any other of Lanna Cafe Organic product, please visit them at:

http://www.lannacafeorganics.com/

Love,

Raquel ❤

2 thoughts on “S̄wạs̄dī Pratheṣ̄thịy

Leave a Reply

